What’s Cool: Madison Avenue Watch Week

Here at CitySights New York, we like things that are cool.  We also like things in New York.  So cool things in New York.. They’re the best.

More importantly, our goal is to show you how cool New York really is, whether it’s while riding on one of our famous bus tours, or while reading about it on our blog.  That is why every Friday we bring you ‘What’s Cool’, where we will tell you, well, you guessed it: something that’s pretty cool in New York City.  Get ready for the weekend because here’s what’s cool:

My friend Dave's watches

In the age of the cellular phone, watches have almost become functionally obsolete.  There is no longer a need to carry the time on your wrist knowing that it will always be there in your pocket or your purse.  With more and more small gadgets being produced every year (Smart phones, iPods, tablets, etc.) we, as a society, will always have the time at our fingertips.  Even when you’re walking down a New York City street, advertisements and digital clocks in windows are always displaying the time.  In fact, I would argue that it is more difficult to not know what time it is in New York than it is to know.

But I still wear a watch every day.  I love my watches.  No, I don’t need to wear a watch to know the time as my grandfather had to when he worked in Manhattan, but I like to.  Even as I sit at my computer, when I want to know the time I check my watch rather than look at the corner of the screen.  There’s just something about it.

Watches also serve a second (some would argue, more important) purpose: fashion.  In NYC, fashion just may be more important than knowing the time.  A good watch can be the accessory that completes an outfit.

This week, Madison Avenue will host its second annual Watch Week.  From the 28th until May 5th, storefronts up and down Madison will be hosting galleries and events featuring some of the finest watches in the world.  Most of the events are open to the public, so head on over and check them out.  Watch Week will have the most beautiful watches in the world meaning that, yeah, they will also be the most expensive timepieces in the world, but don’t let that get you down.  I, myself, would love to see what a watch that costs an entire year’s salary looks like.  Maybe if I wear a suit they’ll even let me try one on 😉

The Week kicks off Saturday with the “Gallery of Watches” event at 10 a.m.  Check out the outdoor tent at Madison and 64th for everything that you will need to know to get the most from Madison Avenue Watch Week.  If you’ll be taking the Uptown Treasures and Harlem Tour tomorrow, hop-off at the Central Park Zoo and you’ll be a block from Madison.

Leave a Reply

